Viber is a popular messaging app nowadays which attracts millions of users in the world. In the previous tutorial, we have introduced you Viber code and how to activate your Viber account. However, if one day you are bored with using Viber or just want to stop using it for personal reasons, you can delete your Viber account. Many people usually misunderstand between uninstalling and deactivating a Viber account. Users often think that uninstall a Viber account will permanently delete this account but in fact, it doesn’t. If you have trouble in deleting your Viber account, let’s us help you!
Before going into details, we would like to clarify uninstalling vs deactivating a Viber account.
Read more posts about Viber and other apps at
What are the differences between uninstalling vs deactivating a Viber account?
- Removes Viber from your phone or computer.
- Deletes all calls and chat history.
- Does not permanently delete your account. If you download Viber again and sign in with your phone number, all your basic information will be restored.
- Closes your account.
- Deletes all your data.
- Deletes contact lists.
- Removes all sticker packs.
- Unlinks other accounts which are linked to your Viber such as Facebook, Twiter…
Notice: Your Viber account will not disappear immediately after you choose to deactivate it. Your account will remain for several months until it is permanently closed. However, if you back up your messages on Google Drive, Viber will not delete these messages.
Furthermore, any subscriptions or call plans that you have purchased will be removed. Once you deactivate an account, It’s impossible to restore any information. Re-registering to Viber with the same Viber ID (phone number) will not help you get back the previous account history.
If you connect your Viber account to a Rakuten account, you won’t be disconnected from any Rakuten services that you are connected to.
How to delete a Viber account on Android?
Now, let’s deactivate a Viber account on your Android!
Step 1: Open your Viber, which is usually in the home screen or in the app drawer.
Step 2: Tap on the More option at the top right corner of the screen.
Step 3: Tap on Settings.
Step 4: Choose Account and then tap the Deactivate Account. A pop-up screen will appear and warn you that this action will delete all your Viber data.
Step 5: To deactivate, let’s enter your phone number which is associated with your Viber account. You also need to select your country code from the menu.
Step 6: Tap Deactivate Account if you have finished all steps above. Your Viber account now will be deactivated.
To sum up, you need to think carefully before permanently deleting your Viber account. If you have any questions with Viber, click here to read more posts about this app. Hope that our post helps you to deactivate your Viber account. If you feel this post useful, let’s give us comment and share. Thanks for reading and supporting!